Yanson Group of Bus Companies

Vallacar Transit, Inc.

Started in 1968, Vallacar Transit Incorporated is the first subsidiary of the Yanson Group of Bus Companies. It started with Ceres Liner which is named after the founder’s younger sister. By 1980, Ceres Liner was covering the whole province of Negros.

The company was founded in 1968 by Ricardo B. Yanson (died October 25, 2015) and his wife, Olivia Villaflores Yanson, beginning with the purchase of one jeepney unit. This effort ultimately became a jeepney-assembly business. In the early 1970s, the market was flooded with Ford Fieras; the couple decided to diversify into a small bus line which plied the Bacolod City-Valladolid-La Carlota route (hence, ValLaCar) and christened it as the Ceres Liner.

The Ceres Liner grew and expanded through the years. Their service had reached from Negros to the Visayan provinces of Iloilo, Capiz, Aklan, Cebu, Bohol and Leyte, as well as Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga City in Mindanao.

In 2007, Ceres Liner’s Iloilo base pioneered travel between Iloilo City and Metro Manila through the Western Nautical Highway. Proving to be profitable, Yanson Group expanded its Metro Manila operations and later established Ceres Transport in 2009.

In 2016, Ceres Liner bought around 70 bus franchises from D’ Rough Riders Express. It then formed a new brand as Sugbo Transit which is named after the old name of Cebu, Sugbo. Currently, the said branding is under the management of Ceres Liner’s Cebu Base.

On December 5, 2020, Vallacar Transit Inc. (VTI) reappoints Leo Rey Yanson as the chairman of the board and president during their firm’s annual stockholders meeting at its principal office in Barangay Mansilingan, Bacolod City. During their meeting, it was released that Olivia V. Yanson, Leo Rey V. Yanson, Ginnette Y. Dumancas, Charles M. Dumancas, Anita G. Chua, Arvin John V. Villaruel and Daniel Nicolas Golez were re-elected as members of VTI’s Board of Directors.

On January 5, 2021, CLTTI re-appointed Leo Rey V. Yanson as Chairman of the Board and President of CLTTI, while Olivia V. Yanson was re-appointed as CLTTI’s Corporate Secretary and Treasurer.